Velvet Black Canvas

The trumpets in my heart know

No parallel, than the trumpets of the night sky

Silent, ever watchful, bursting into a song

Of silence

Millennia after millennia

Balls of fire leaving legacies

Of light for my soft eyes

Gazing back in time

To see one blink

One twinkle

Gazing right back at me

What marvel mastermind wished me

To have these millions of witnesses

Reflected in my soft eyes

When the world has gone to sleep and I sit alone

Gazing at what gazes back into me

And there is no canvas as velvet black

As the one my nights are painted on

And the one my soft eyes gaze gently from

As they watch me, watching them.

Leave a Reply

