What is in a name?

What’s in a name, my friend,

A syllable or two,

A breathy sound,

A word-

Gone in a single puff

 

What’s in a name, you ask?

The illusion of a story

An I, a me, a past

A present and a future

A label, a shape

 

This is my name, I say,

And my life,

My tale,

Where I come from, and where

I am yet to go

 

A name is a lie, I tell you

The promise of so much

Hidden in a hollow bowl,

Everything you put in

Falls out the other end!

 

What’s in your name, my friend,

But a rusty coin

Dipped in gold-water,

Glistening treasure that tricks

Only the blundering fool.

2 thoughts on “What is in a name?

Leave a Reply

