Defiance

I defy

the glimmering

shallow meaningless

smiles

and the glimmering

polished

accolades and trophies

prized so high

by a glimmerinspring-natalie-hollandg

hollow crackpot

world

I defy

the tortured, artful

charity

and heartless giving

of multitudes

ignorant of their

own wealth

and their own empty

hearths

I defy

knowledge stuffed

into books upon books

of cold calculation

devoid of heart

or soul

or discerning

reader

I defy

the beaten path

raced upon

by billions

since the dawn of

time

running

running

running

to certain death

I defy

sanity and prudence

and gravity

and despair

I defy

your dogmatic

judgemental

censure

for one ride on

the children’s carousel

I defy

all language

for my silent

tears

and shouts

and peals

of laughter

swinging

madly through

the universe

as the very Earth

bounces

right off

its silly axis

to come

play in the spring

of

my defiance.

Leave a Reply

