Tell Me the Secret of the Stars

Tell me the secretWhen Worlds Collide

of your smiles

and tears,

the little crow feet

as your eyes crinkle up

when you laugh-

tell me the secret of your laugh

your no-holds barred

infectious

outpouring of

happiness

tell me

tell me the

secret

of your sighs

heaved in silent corners

heard, you hope,

by no one

I listen

Tell me

The secret of the

little furrow

between your winged brows

flighty guest that it is

tell me

the secret of your

hands as you wave them around

to paint pictures in

the air

pictures for the stories you so

love to tell

and

tell me the

secret

of your eyes

when they light up like war beacons

in hope

and in anger and

in joy

and dim

in hurt

or in that deep sadness

deep inside

tell me

the secret

to the stars

behind them

and the soul that

looks out

when I look

in.

2 thoughts on “Tell Me the Secret of the Stars

Leave a comment